Mom: All Attitude

Nancy Roman recently published a blog article about her mother that really resonated with me.

I think a lot about my mother, and what an excellent role-model she is, in her humble and unassuming way. She is the epitome of resilience, taking whatever life throws at her and turning it into good – always for the greater good of others.

After the deaths of her husbands (yes, two of them), she worked so hard to make sure we never felt poor or neglected in any way. And her generosity has always extraordinary, even though we never measured anything in terms of cash or material possessions:

b
My Mum

Whatever little she earned throughout her life has always been used to make our lives easier in some way or another, but the thing she made sure she had and shared abundantly, was her time.  She has always had time for us.

Even now, at 70 years old, she is full-time carer of her own mother, and any days that she is relieved are spent caring for grandchildren or visiting her 99 year old former mother-in-law to ensure she has company at the nursing home.

My mother is a Good Person. The best I can be, as a person, is more like her.

Nancy Roman’s beautiful description of her own mother reminds me of why I always choose a single scoop of icecream.

Read Nancy’s post at Not Quite Old.

Leave a comment