Inducted 2006

 

In 2006, I was a mature-aged student (41 years old), nearing the end of a degree that I’d worked through part-time – all the while working as many hours as I could manage, and bringing up two little children by myself.

I could not believe my eyes when I opened a letter from Golden Key, congratulating me on my grades and inviting me to become a member of the society.

Golden_KeySeriously?

I was barely fitting everything in, and certainly didn’t think I was succeeding at much.  Certainly I’d never felt like I stood out in any way, and I never expected anyone to notice me.  Until that letter arrived, the results of my work and determination had been something relevant only to me.

I needed to pass so that I could have reliable employment, and support my family more reliably.  I studied as well as I could so that I wouldn’t have to repeat any subjects, and so that I’d be better prepared if/when the time came to start said job.  That was the best I’d hoped for.  But presumably, the university advises the society of those who achieve high grades – and mine must have been high enough.   Surprise!

The induction ceremony was amazing.  It was the first time in my life that I was surrounded by like-minded people, and that I did not feel embarrassed about my enjoyment of thinking and learning.

“Golden Key is the world’s largest collegiate honor society. Membership into the Society is by invitation only and applies to the top 15% of college and university sophomores, juniors and seniors, as well as top-performing graduate students in all fields of study, based solely on their academic achievements. As an international honor society with more than 400 chapters at colleges and universities around the world, Golden Key is committed to a high standard of scholastic achievement, and an ethos of integrity, innovation, respect, collaboration and diversity.

With more than 2 million members, including honoraries like Desmond Tutu, Elie Wiesel and Bill Clinton, Golden Key carries an esteemed legacy of achievement. Members are a community with a linkage to widely respected individuals and ideals … all part of the continuum of excellence.

Golden Key offers its members exclusive opportunities and connections through over half a million dollars in scholarships and awards, partnerships with major corporations, career advancement and graduate programs. The Society also works with university faculty and administrators to develop and maintain one of the highest standards of education in the world.”

Source: https://www.goldenkey.org/about-us/overview/ 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

