Public Input via Facebook (1)

One week ago, I published a piece which asked readers to Comment their thoughts about what I should learn about racism.  That piece was shared to my Facebook page in the hope that I could reach a wider audience, and thereby gather more input.  Although my Facebook page is very new, and has few followers, comments have started coming in.

Here are a couple of paragraphs from one of those Facebook comments:

The past doesn’t have barriers to protect the present and future from being contaminated. We are who we are because of our past. Yes we can learn and change but you cannot change what you refuse to see. Guilt and awareness are not the same thing. Feeling bad fixes nothing. But neither does sticking your head in the sand and acting like there is nothing to see.

People protect themselves and their opinions. “He’s not like the others”, “Some of my best friends are…”. Instead of accepting our biases and prejudices are wrong we justify them and ignore whatever information challenges them. We let misinformed opinions be equal to educated facts. To change and challenge the system, we must first be willing to challenge and change ourselves.

I would be grateful for your thoughts too.

If you would like to contribute, please do so in the Comments section at the bottom of my original project announcement.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

