Cyberstorm, by Matthew Mather

5 stars

Apparently this book is to be made into a film by 20th Century Fox.  I will certainly watch it.

The thing I like best about this book is that the characters are so well fleshed out.  They make mistakes and each of them acts according to their values, just as any ordinary human would.  And more interestingly, each makes decisions that are limited by what they know.  This is something that few other authors can pull off.  But information is not always common, and common knowledge is not always correct, and the ways individuals use knowledge is extremely diverse.  Mather gets this.

He also gets communication.  I have NEVER before experienced fiction that could cause me physical symptoms – but somehow Mather achieved it.  His descriptions of hunger were so effective that I felt hungry.  Really hungry.  Even though I had eaten.  Dieters should not be put off the book as a whole, but there is one chapter that had me reaching for a second lunch and some snacks, even though I’m not a big eater.  That’s real writing skill.

Although Cyberstorm works as a stand-alone book, there is apparently a follow-up (Darknet), which is not yet available via Amazon Kindle.  I’m a bit disappointed that I have to wait for it, but the anticipation is good too.  I really can’t imagine what Mather will do that can beat Cyberstorm.

Click image to view at Amazon
One thought on “Cyberstorm, by Matthew Mather

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

