Book Reviews, Just for Fun

Shelter (Humanity Abides), by C.A. Bird

Amazon Review, 29 September 2013:

I was totally engrossed in this book. There are loads of characters that develop well over time, and the story was full of enough surprises to keep me very curious. I’m normally not interested in nuclear warfare, but that was not the main theme at all. For me, this story would have been complete without the mutation element toward the end, and the red glow thing was a bit much for a sentence or two (trying not to give anything away). The rest of the story was so interesting to me, and the ending was well worth continuing toward. I’m particularly impressed by how well the author is able to manipulate pace.

Readers into preparedness and survival/recovery should enjoy this; and there’s also something in it for those who are into monster stories.

I’ve bought the sequel and can’t wait to start it.

Leave a Reply

